Miller Elementary

Nominate a Teacher for the Teacher of the Year Award- Due March 8

This annual award is sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce and presented by LaFontaine Automotive Group. The nomination deadline is Tuesday, March 8, 2022 at 5 p.m. The online nomination form can be found on the Chamber’s website.

Paper nomination forms can also be printed from the Chamber’s website (scroll to the bottom of the page) or picked up at any Dearborn Public School or the District’s Administrative Service Center, 18700 Audette St., Dearborn.  Completed forms can be dropped off or mailed to the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Ave., Dearborn, MI 48124 or faxed to (313) 584-9818.  Adults may assist students in completing nominations when necessary.  No more than two teachers may be nominated per student.

The Teacher of the Year Awards honor Dearborn Public Schools teachers. 

Students may nominate any new or veteran teacher whom they feel has made an outstanding contribution to the teaching profession.

Preschool through second grade students are asked to describe how their teacher makes learning fun.  Students in this category can include a nice drawing, if they wish, but it will not be part of the selection process.

Third through fifth grade students must describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun. 

“I know so many of our teachers are deserving of this award, and I hope many of our students will take a few moments to nominate their favorite teacher.  Nominating a teacher for this award is a great way to honor them and show appreciation for the work they have done to create a meaningful educational experience,” said Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Glenn Maleyko. 

Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences. Winning teachers receive a $1,000 cash prize and a glass award commemorating their achievement. They also will join a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching.